2023 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship – Top Honor Students Interviewed

The Community Foundation of Noble County recently interviewed ten top honor students in the final phase of the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship nomination process for Noble County.  These students were selected to interview based on their applications submitted in September to the community foundation which were reviewed by a panel of judges representing the central, east and west part of Noble County.

The Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship provides four years of full-tuition and required fees awarded to one well-rounded high school senior who resides in Noble County, who will receive a diploma from an accredited Indiana high school by the end of June 2023 and will pursue a full-time baccalaureate course of study at an accredited public or private college or university in Indiana. Community Foundation of Noble County also requires community service, volunteerism, extra-curricular activities, leadership roles and honors and awards and at least a 3.80 high school grade point average.

Students interviewed were:
Rachel Becker – East Noble High School
Max Bender – East Noble High School
Addison Dills – East Noble High School
Grant Flora – West Noble High School
Hailey Holbrook – Churubusco Junior/Senior High School
Miriam Kline – Churubusco Junior/Senior High School
Ryan Norden – East Noble High School
Eva Refeld – Churubusco Junior/Senior High School
Austin Shepherd – Lakewood Park Christian School
Bethany Trinklein – West Noble High School

Names of the top candidates will be submitted to Independent Colleges of Indiana, Inc for final selection of the recipient. ICI is a nonprofit organization that represents 29 regionally accredited, degree-granting, nonprofit, private colleges, and universities in the state.  The Noble County recipient of the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship will be announced in early December 2022. Finalists not selected for the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship will receive a $1,000 scholarship from the Community Foundation of Noble County

The Lilly Endowment Community Scholarships are the result of a statewide Lilly Endowment initiative to 1) to help raise the level of educational attainment in Indiana; 2) to increase awareness of the beneficial roles Indiana community foundations can play in their communities; and 3) to encourage and support the efforts of current and past Lilly Endowment Community Scholars to engage with each other and with Indiana business, governmental, educational, nonprofit and civic leaders to improve the quality of life in Indiana generally and in local communities throughout the state. A total of 147 Lilly scholarships are awarded statewide.

Pictured from left are:
Bethany Trinklein, Rachel Becker, Addison Dills, Ryan Norden, and Max Bender.
Standing: Eva Refeld, Austin Shepherd, Miriam Kline, Hailey Holbrook, and Grant Flora.