Noble County’s Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Recipient Announcement

The Community Foundation of Noble County is pleased to announce the recipient of the 2024 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship for Noble County – Elizabeth Dreibelbis of Churubusco Jr/Sr High School. Lilly Endowment Community Scholars are known for their community involvement, academic achievement, character, and leadership.

Dreibelbis intends to study English Education at Ball State University in the fall 2024. Some of her activities in high school include Noble County 4-H Fair Grounds Clean up, Park Clean-up with multiple school groups, Animal Shelter and Supply Drive with Student Council, Food Pantry Volunteer at Community Harvest, 4-H Food Stands at Noble and Whitley County Fairs, Musical Tutoring, altering costumes for Churubusco Show Choir and West Noble Theater 33, child watching at Sugar Grove Church of God, Landscaping at Sugar Grove Church of God, sewing projects donated to organizations, New Era Orchestra (co-captain, captain and section leader), golf, Thespian Troupe #971, Student Council (secretary), National Honor Society, Spanish Club (president), Pep Band, Jefferson Township 4-H (secretary), and Noble Couty Junior Leaders. Dreibelbis is the daughter of Amy and Brent Dreibelbis.

“The Community Foundation is honored to be a part of the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program. The excitement within our community is felt as we wish the best to Libby and those interviewed for the scholarship. This scholarship not only opens doors to higher education but also symbolizes the unwavering commitment to nurturing future leaders and change-makers. May the recipient embrace this opportunity with zeal, knowing that their potential is boundless, and the community stands united in celebrating her remarkable journey ahead.”

Each Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship provides for full tuition, required fees and a special allocation of up to $900 per year for required books and required equipment for four years. The scholarship is for full-time undergraduate students leading to a baccalaureate degree at any eligible Indiana public or private nonprofit college or university. Lilly Endowment Community Scholars may also participate in the Lilly Scholars Network (LSN), which connects both current scholars and alumni with resources and opportunities to be active leaders on their campuses and in their communities. Both the scholarship program and LSN are supported by grants from Lilly Endowment to Independent Colleges of Indiana (ICI) and Indiana Humanities.

In determining Noble County’s Lilly Endowment Community Scholar, consideration was given to well-rounded seniors through their academics, community service, volunteerism, extracurricular activities, work experience, and leadership roles. This year’s 43 applicants provided recommendation letters from two references and submitted three essays, which were evaluated by the community foundation scholarship committee of six Noble County citizens, who interviewed the top 10 finalists.

After the field of applicants was narrowed down, nominees were submitted to the statewide administrator of the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program, ICI, for the selection of scholarship recipients.

Those finalists will receive a $1,000 scholarship from the Community Foundation of Noble County. Those students are:
Benjamin Barker – East Noble High School
Keith Knafel – Central Noble Jr./Sr. High School
Madison Lehman – Churubusco High School
Lauren Munson – East Noble High School
Warner Ott – Churubusco High School
Erin Pippenger – East Noble High School
Sadie Potts – East Noble High School
Sydnee Przemielewski – Churubusco High School
Alyssa Speicher – East Noble High School

Lilly Endowment created the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program for the 1998-99 school year and has supported the program every year since with grants totaling in excess of $505 million. More than 5,200 Indiana students have received the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship since the program’s inception.

The primary purposes of the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program are: 1) to help raise the level of educational attainment in Indiana; 2) to increase awareness of the beneficial roles Indiana community foundations can play in their communities; and 3) to encourage and support the efforts of current and past Lilly Endowment Community Scholars to engage with each other and with Indiana business, governmental, educational, nonprofit and civic leaders to improve the quality of life in Indiana generally and in local communities throughout the state.

Lilly Endowment Inc. is an Indianapolis-based private foundation created in 1937 by J.K. Lilly Sr. and his sons Eli and J.K. Jr. through gifts of stock in their pharmaceutical business, Eli Lilly and Company. Although the gifts of stock remain a financial bedrock of the Endowment, it is a separate entity from the company, with a distinct governing board, staff and location. In keeping with the founders’ wishes, the Endowment supports the causes of community development, education and religion. Although the Endowment funds programs throughout the United States, especially in the field of religion, it maintains a special commitment to its founders’ hometown, Indianapolis, and home state, Indiana.
Since 1997, Independent Colleges of Indiana has administered the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program statewide with funding provided by Lilly Endowment. Founded in 1948, ICI serves as the collective voice for the state’s 29 private, nonprofit colleges and universities. ICI institutions employ over 22,000 Hoosiers and generate a total local economic impact of over $5 billion annually. Students at ICI colleges have Indiana’s highest four-year, on-time graduation rates, and ICI institutions produce 30 percent of Indiana’s bachelor’s degrees while enrolling 20 percent of its undergraduates.